As the seasons of the natural world change through the year, so the Church observes a series of seasons

Harvest Sunday – 3 October 2021
You shall observe the festival of harvest, of the first fruits of your labour, of what you sow in the field. You shall observe the festival of ingathering at the end of the year, when you gather in from the field the fruit of your labour. [Exodus 23. 16]

Eternal God,
you crown the year with your goodness
and you give us the fruits of the earth in their season:
grant that we may use them to your glory,
for the relief of those in need and for our own well-being;
through Jesus Christ your Son our Lord,
who is alive and reigns with you,
in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
one God, now and for ever.

Harvest is a time to thank God for his goodness in creation and to remind ourselves of the rhythm of the seasons.

We need to consider our actions and the damage we are doing to the earth, especially those that are affecting our climate and which, in turn, disturb the animal and plant life of the world and our own lives.

O God
transform our hearts and minds, our actions and behaviours.
Teach us to care and share.


Trinity Sunday is a Solemnity in the liturgical calendar (Feast Day of the highest rank) and is held on the Sunday following Pentecost.  On this day we reflect on the Doctrine of the Trinity – God in three persons: Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

In the Church of England Ordinary Time (ordered or numbered Sundays) occurs twice in the Church’s year. The first section is after Candlemas and lasts until Ash Wednesday. Because of the way Easter is calculated this is a different number of Sundays each year.

The second portion of Ordinary Time begins after Pentecost and is called the Trinity Season. It lasts until Advent.  You can tell when we are in Ordinary time because the vestments are green.

This is the longest season of the Church’s year. During this time there are various commemorations of saints and other occasions, one of the first being Corpus Christi which is celebrated on the first Thursday after Trinity Sunday. In this season we study the life of Jesus: his teaching and ministry. Aspects of the Christian life are also themes that run through the readings.